Transferring to St. Fergal’s

Transfers from other Second Level Schools

Pupils may transfer to the school subject to:

  • The School’s Admission Policy.
  • The school authorities being satisfied regarding the reasons for application.

Enrolment Transfer Application Form

Admissions and Enrolment Procedure

While it is appreciated that in certain exceptional circumstances transfers are unavoidable (E.g. a change of residence or a family moving into the area) as a matter of general policy transfers into the school are discouraged in the overall interests of the continuity of the student’s education.

An application to transfer is defined as one from a student who has previously enrolled in another school in or outside the catchment area or from a student who makes an application after the commencement of the autumn school term. It is the policy of the Board of Management not to accept transfer applications from students already enrolled in local post-primary schools, except in exceptional circumstances. When the Board is satisfied that such exceptional circumstances do exist, the following considerations and procedures will apply:

(a) Reasons for transfer should be clearly stated.
(b) The following documentation should be supplied:

  • Completed enrolment form.
  • The two most recent reports from the pupil’s previous school.
  • A written reference/report from the previous school together with two additional written references, dated within one month of the date of application, from a local Youth Club/Sports Club or similar organisation and/or a member of An Garda Síochána or a person of similar standing in the community.
  • A Statement of Special Needs, if relevant.

This College also reserves the right to request a confidential reference from the authorities in the previous school (s).

The Board of Management reserves the right to refuse an application in exceptional circumstances, which might include:

  1. An established prior record of poor behaviour
  2. Lack of adequate resources to cater for particular needs.

Applications to transfer into the school will be considered having regard to the overall well-being of existing pupils and the availability of physical space and resources. Following consideration by the Board of Management of individual applications to transfer into the school, where the Board has good grounds for forming the fair and reasonable opinion that it would not be in the best interests of the existing students to accept such a transfer, it is the policy of the school to refuse to enrol such applicants.

Note: Applications will not be accepted from students who are the subject of ongoing disciplinary proceedings in another school which includes any ongoing statutory appeals procedures in accordance with the Education Act 1998 or the Education for Persons with Special Needs Act 2004.

It is the policy of the Board of Management not to accept transfers during the school year. However, in the case of students whose family has moved into the catchment area and who are not enrolled in another post-primary school, applications will be considered.

The application will then be considered and enrolment will be offered according to the following criteria:

  • School Admissions Policy.
  • Reason for Transfer.
  • Ability to match subject choice.
  • Available space.

The Board of Management reserves the right to refuse an application for admission of a student from other second-level schools. Mid-cycle transfers are discouraged in the interest of the student’s education.

Note: Places in optional subject classes cannot be guaranteed as they are governed by differing maximum class sizes as listed below and are offered on a first-come first-served basis.

Agricultural Science, Art, Biology, Chemistry, Construction Studies, Engineering, Physics, Technical Drawing: 24 students.
Home Economics: 20 students.

Refusal to admit a student may occur in exceptional circumstances as defined by Section 29, Education Act 1998 and Circular M48/01. Refusal to admit a student may be appealed to the Board of Management in the first instance and then to the LOETB. and finally to the Department of Education and Science